Herzog Named ABCA Division III National Position Player of the Year

Herzog Named ABCA Division III National Position Player of the Year

BOSTON, Mass. - Senior right fielder Nick Herzog (Riverhead, N.Y.) was named the 2019 American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings NCAA Division III Position Player of the Year, it was announced by the ABCA Wednesday. He is the first player in program history to earn the ABCA's top single-season honor

The ABCA began recognizing both a Position Player of the Year & a Pitcher of the Year beginning in 2018. Prior to 2018, one player was selected as a National Player of the Year for the division.

This is just the latest in a long list of honors for Herzog, who was named a First Team All-America and the New England Region Player of the Year by the ABCA in 2019. He was named a Second Team All-America and a First Team All-New England selection by D3baseball.com, and was a First Team LEC All-Conference pick. Herzog was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA's Boston Regional Championship after batting .615 (8-13) with two double, two triples, seven RBI and seven runs scored, leading the Beacons to a perfect 3-0 record and the regional title on their way to the third College World Series appearance in program history.

Herzog had a career year in his final collegiate campaign, batting .357 and slugging .695 while racking up career-best totals of 75 hits, 14 doubles, 12 triples, 11 home runs, 59 runs scored, 57 RBI and 23 stolen bases. His 51 games played, 146 total bases and 12 triples are single-season program records. He is now the program's career record-holder in games played (189), triples (15).

UMass Boston posted an overall record of 37-14 in 2019. The Beacons won their third consecutive LEC title as the No. 2 seed in 2019, making them the first program to win three straight conference titles. UMass Boston went on to win the NCAA Regional and Super Regional titles in the first year of Division III's new NCAA tournament format, and tied for third at the College World Series after going 2-2 at the national tournament.

Herzog is the fifth Little East Conference (LEC) player to be named an ABCA Player of the Year. The first was Eastern Connecticut pitcher Shawn Gilblair, who was named ABCA Player of the Year in both 2007 and 2009. He was followed by Eastern pitcher Jim Schult (2011), Southern Maine outfielder Tucker White (2013) and USM shortstop Sam Dexter (2015).