2005-06 Men's Basketball
2005-06 Men's Basketball
Year: Class of 2018

UMass Boston Men’s Basketball team – The only men’s basketball team in UMass Boston history to lift the Little East Conference trophy, the 2005–06 team remains one of the most successful teams in the program’s long history. Under the direction of UMass Boston Hall of Fame head coach Charlie Titus, UMass Boston ran the table in the LEC Tournament, and in dominant fashion defeated Keene State College on their home floor to win the title, and the program’s second-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament. That season was a tremendous year for UMass Boston as the Beacons hosted both the quarterfinal and semi-final rounds of the LEC Tournament, each of which they won in dramatic fashion. The Beacons were led by the program’s all-time record holder in games played, A.J. Titus. The 18 wins in that season still stands as second most ever in the program’s history. Their 10 wins in Little East play is the program record and is the only double-digit conference win record for the Beacons men’s basketball team. For their success on the hardwood, the Beacons had two All-Conference First Team honorees, an All-Defensive Team selection, an All-Rookie Team selection, and the Player of the Year in Tony Barros, while coach Titus was named Coach of the Year. Barros also went on to collect NABC First Team All-District Honors, making him the first player in over 30 years to achieve that honor.

2005–06 UMass Boston Men’s Basketball team

Adam Tiberio ’07
Eric T. Bateman ’06
Andy C. Pollock
Ryuto Arakaki ’07
James L. Hall ’06
A.J. Titus ’10
Amigo Paniagua
Tommy Howe
Charles Yuan
Kevin Senuta
Rodney Bennett
Tony Barros ’14
Mark Doran

Head Coach: Charlie Titus
Assistant Coaches: Rodney Hughes, Charles Neal, Lance Tucker