1990 UMass Boston Men's Tennis
1990 UMass Boston Men's Tennis
Year: Induction Class of 2013

The first UMass Boston tennis team to ever win a Little East Conference championship, all of the members of the historic squad were named to the UMass Boston Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

Under the guidance of head coach Michael Bradley, the Beacons stood as the only team with a conference championship up until 2006. In their championship year, UMass Boston finished with an overall record of 11-1, with the only loss coming at the hands of Division II Stonehill College.

In the championship match, the Beacons were absolutely dominant winning at No. two, three, five, and six singles and as well as sweeping all three doubles matches. During the 1990 campaign, the Beacons won 10 matches by scores of 7-2 or better, including six 9-0 victories.

The top six singles players finished the championship year with a combined record of 74-13 respectively, while the top three doubles teams posted a final mark of 65-7. Among the many highlights from that season, was Oscar Jara’s perfect 12-0 record at No. 1 doubles. Tom Savoie ended the year with a 16-0 record at No. 2 singles and was 13-1 in doubles play.

1990 UMass Boston Men's Tennis roster

Matt Ashe
Dave Bouley
Kevin Counter
Tom Esper
Pat Finnigan
Oscar Jara
Jeff Kearns
Stephan Krause
Chris Lyons
Dan Pollard
Phil Robbins
Tom Savoie
Bob Wright
Michael Bradley (Head Coach)