Eight Beacons Named to Little East Fall All-Academic Teams

Eight Beacons Named to Little East Fall All-Academic Teams

NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass. -- The Little East Conference office announced its 2013 Fall All-Academic Teams this afternoon. The conference honored a total of 227 student-athletes in its seven fall championship sponsored sports: men's and women's cross country, field hockey, men's and women's soccer, women's tennis, and volleyball.

A total of eight Beacons earned a spot on their respective All-Academic Teams and are listed below.

To earn a spot on the squad, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher through the 2013 spring semester and be at least a sophomore academically and athletically. The student-athlete must also be a full-time member of a varsity sport and be enrolled in its institution for a full academic year.

The Little East Conference began honoring an all-academic team during the 2007-08 academic year.

Formed in 1986, the Little East serves as New England's premier athletic conference for public institutions in NCAA Division III. Featuring 19 championship sports, the Little East sponsors quality competition in every season for our student athletes. Our eight state colleges and universities dedicate themselves to an ongoing fulfillment of the Division III mission of passion, responsibility, sportsmanship, and citizenship.

Men's Cross Country
Chhenlee Ly

Women's Soccer
Krista Ledin
Kara Peters
Brittany Castillo 

Danni Marotto
Bri Sousa
Blair Boyer

Women's Tennis
Samantha Counts